ALERT - Act now to stop local election changes

Act now to Kansas legislators to oppose HB 2104, a bill in the balance today that would change local and school board elections to the Fall of even numbered years. This is a purely political move by Governor Brownback, Kris Kobach, and their allies in the Kansas Legislature, and is not supported by school boards, superintendents, municipalities, or Kansans.

Act now:

Your action right this minute could swing the balance: send an email by clicking here, or call your legislator. You can find their information at openkansas.org.

Here is the joint statement from all the Johnson County school districts:

"We want to be sure that you are aware that Johnson County School Districts are united against the Conference Committee Report for HB 2104.  This is the bill that moves municipal and school board elections to the fall of even numbered years.  We are yet to hear a compelling reason for the change.  Please join us in opposing the Conference Committee Report for HB 2104. - Tom Trigg, Marlin Berry, Jim Hinson, Bart Goering, Doug Sumner, Pam Stranathan"

Not sure what to say? Here are some suggestions:

  • Be brief.
  • State your opposition to House bill 2104, changing local elections
  • State your name and city, and school district if you know it
  • You could add:
    • All the Johnson County school superintendents oppose this legislation
    • Adding non-partisan elections to a partisan ballot will make school leadership about politics, not policy
    • Electing school board members mid-school year is disruptive and inefficient
    • Overwhelming voters with longer ballots does not lead to more representative government or better voter turnout

If the email links above don't work, here are the email addresses: 

Amanda.Grosserode@house.ks.gov, Barbara.Bollier@house.ks.gov, Bill.Sutton@house.ks.gov, Brett.Hildabrand@house.ks.gov, Charles.Macheers@house.ks.gov, Craig.McPherson@house.ks.gov, erin.davis@house.ks.gov, Greg.Smith@senate.ks.gov, James.Todd@house.ks.gov, jarrod.ousley@house.ks.gov, Jeff.Melcher@senate.ks.gov, Jerry.Lunn@house.ks.gov, Jim.Denning@senate.ks.gov, John.Rubin@house.ks.gov, Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov, Kay.Wolf@senate.ks.gov, Keith.Esau@house.ks.gov, Larry.Campbell@house.ks.gov, Linda.Gallagher@house.ks.gov, Marvin.Kleeb@house.ks.gov, Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov, Melissa.Rooker@house.ks.gov, mike.kiegerl@house.ks.gov, molly.baumgardner@house.ks.gov, Nancy.Lusk@house.ks.gov, Pat.Pettey@senate.ks.gov, randy.powell@house.ks.gov, Ray.Merrick@house.ks.gov, Rob.Bruchman@house.ks.gov, Robert.Olson@senate.ks.gov, Ron.Ryckman@house.ks.gov, Scott.Schwab@house.ks.gov, Stephanie.Clayton@house.ks.gov, Willie.Dove@house.ks.gov

Thank you for all your support for moderate positions. Please continue to do more than vote.

Do you like this post?
Sign Up

if you are new to MainStream.

Sign In

if you're a Member or part of our network.