MainPAC Endorsements

Download, print and take them to the polls

2018 MainPAC General Election Recommendations (.pdf)

Past endorsements
These are records of our past endorsements. All files are .pdfs

2018 Primary Election
2017 General Election
2017 Primary Election
2016 General Election
2016 Primary Election
2015 Spring Election
2014 General Election
2014 Primary Election


PAC Endorsed logo 2018 GeneralCandidates looking for web or print badges to use to indicate their endorsement by MainPAC can find them here: Endorsement Badges

2018 General Election - Vote on November 6th!

These are the 2018 General endorsements of MainPAC, the political action committee of the MainStream Coalition, for races in Johnson, Wyandotte, and Douglas counties in Kansas.

Our process
Endorsements were decided by a fifteen member, non-partisan committee that deliberated over candidate surveys, available voting records, candidate interviews when needed, and other factors to determine how closely a candidate aligned with the values of the MainStream Coalition, and how well their fundraising, organization, and messaging would contribute to their success.

How to vote on November 6th
Early voting begins across Kansas on, or around October 17th, 2018. You can vote early in person, or apply for an advance mail-in ballot. Learn more at

Who is on your ballot?
Find your KS House and Senate districts at, and your Congressional district at Your county elections office will have a sample ballot available before election day. Here is a list of county elections offices.

Why vote?
Elections are the best way to have your say in rejecting extremist policies to cut schools, underfund our safety net services, attack our impartial courts, and deny health care where it is most needed.

“No endorsement”
If an endorsement is not available, either no endorsement was made, or there was not enough information to endorse, e.g., a survey was not returned.

Important Note on the General Election
Endorsement in previous primary or general elections does not imply or guarantee endorsement in any given election.

2018 MainPAC General Election Recommendations

U.S. House of Rep., 2nd District Endorsed Candidate(s)
  Davis (D)
Standley (L)
Watkins (R)
Paul Davis (D)
U.S. House of Rep., 3rd District Endorsed Candidate(s)
  Clemmons (L)
Davids (D)
Yoder (R)
Sharice Davids (D)
KS Governor Endorsed Candidate(s)
  Caldwell / Gerlt (L)
Kelly / Rogers (D)
Kloos / Kloos (I)
Kobach / Hartman (R)
Orman / Doll (I)
Laura Kelly / Lynn Rogers (D)
KS Secretary of State Endorsed Candidate(s)
  Hodgkinson (L)
McClendon (D)
Schwab (R)
Brian "BAM" McClendon (D)
KS State Treasurer Endorsed Candidate(s)
  Francisco (D)
LaTurner (R)
Marci Francisco (D)
KS Commissioner of Insurance Endorsed Candidate(s)
  McLaughlin (D)
Schmidt (R)
Vicki Schmidt (R)
KS Attorney General Endorsed Candidate(s)
  Schmidt (R)
Swain (D)
no endorsement
KS State Board of Education Endorsed Candidate(s)
1 Powell (R)
Waugh (D)
Janet Waugh (D)
3 Dombrosky (R)
Goff (D)
Ruth Goff (D)
5 Clifford (R) no endorsement
7 Hannon (D)
Jones (R)
James Hannon (D)
9 Porter (R) Jim Porter (R)
Kansas House by District Endorsed Candidate(s)
8 Croft (R)
Lobitz (D)
Michele Lobitz (D)
10 Horn (D) Eileen Horn (D)
14 Esau (R)
Schweller (D)
Angela Justus Schweller (D)
15 Haulmark (D)
Toplikar (R)
no endorsement
16 Holscher (D)
Huff (R)
Cindy Holscher (D)
17 Cox (R)
Kerner (L)
Smith-Everett (D)
Laura Smith-Everett (D)
18 Jenkins (R)
Neighbor (D)
Cindy Neighbor (D)
19 Clayton (R)
Wyatt (D)
Stephanie Clayton (R)
20 Barber (D)
Kessinger (R)
Jan Kessinger (R)
21 Stogsdill (D) Jerry Stogsdill (D)
22 Lusk (D) Nancy Lusk (D)
23 Gallagher (R)
Ruiz (D)
Linda Gallagher (R)
24 Ousley (D) no endorsement
25 Rooker (R)
Xu (D)
Melissa Rooker (R)
26 Mitchell (D)
Thomas (R)
Deann Mitchell (D)
27 Rome (D)
Tarwater (R)
Nicole Rome (D)
28 Clausen (D)
Warren (R)
Brian Clausen (D)
29 Firestone (L)
Parker (D)
Todd (R)
Brett Parker (D)
30 Bingesser (R)
Woodard (D)
Brandon Woodard (D)
31 Ruiz (D) Louis Ruiz (D)
32 Curtis (D) Pam Curtis (D)
33 Burroughs (D)
Conley (L)
Tom Burroughs (D)
34 Winn (D) Valdenia Winn (D)
35 Henderson (D) no endorsement
36 Coggs (R)
Wolfe Moore (D)
Kathy Wolfe Moore (D)
37 Frownfelter (D) no endorsement
38 Dove (R)
Sweeney (D)
Stuart Sweeney (D)
39 Bolton (D)
Donohoe (R)
no endorsement
42 Karleskint (R)
Perry (D)
Thea Perry (D)
43 Finley (D)
Sutton (R)
no endorsement
44 Ballard (D) no endorsement
45 Amyx (D)
Smith (R)
Mike Amyx (D)
46 Highberger (D) Dennis "Boog" Highberger (D)
48 Benson (D)
Rafie (R)
David Benson (D)
49 Hunt (D)
Lynn (R)
no endorsement
78 Darby (D)
Ryckman (R)
Jason Darby (D)
121 Gill (D)
Resman (R)
Nick Gill (D)
JoCo Commission Chair Endorsed Candidate(s)
Ed Eilert
JoCo Commission Endorsed Candidate(s)
1 Fast
Becky Fast
Ron Shaffer
4 Hanzlick
Janee' Hanzlick
5 Ashcraft
LeEtta Felter
Prairie Village Mayor Endorsed Candidate(s)

Eric Mikkelson

Judicial Retention
MainPAC has not investigated and does not have a recommendation for judicial retention. In Johnson County, the JoCo Bar Association has released a peer reviewed list of judicial evaluations you may consult: 2018 Judicial Evaluation


Do you like this page?