The team at the Mainstream Coalition support the directives of the volunteer Board of Directors, and are in turn supported by the dedicated, hard-working volunteers and members of the Coalition. Nothing would happen without all of us working together. Thank you!

Michael Poppa

Michael Poppa
Executive Director

Email Michael

Michael (he/him) began with Mainstream Coalition in January 2020, after serving his first term on the Roeland Park, KS City Council, and working as director of member engagement for the Northeast Johnson County Chamber of Commerce. He was first introduced to Mainstream in 2014, while serving as the Metro KC chapter chair of Equality Kansas and championing the passage of the first LGTBQ-inclusive nondiscrimination ordinance in Johnson County, KS. He is excited to be a part of the Mainstream Team and help further their efforts to inform and empower Kansas voters and bring about meaningful change in Kansas.

Laurel Burchfield

Laurel Burchfield
Advocacy Director

Email Laurel

Laurel (she/her) first joined Mainstream in 2021 as Associate Director and took a brief hiatus in 2023 to serve as Director of Marketing and Communications at a local human services nonprofit. In 2024, she returned to Mainstream to lead the organization's state and federal advocacy work. Laurel previously worked to advance anti-poverty legislation in the state of Michigan. She holds a MA in International Peace and Conflict Resolution and interned in Tanzania and Ethiopia. Laurel currently serves as a councilmember in the city of Shawnee, KS.


Sign Up

if you are new to MainStream.

Sign In

if you're a Member or part of our network.