Thank You for Voting to #SaveKansas



Another midterm election is in the books, and though it will be a while before the official canvass confirms winners and turnout, we know that voters came out strong to support candidates reflecting commonsense values (mostly...). We may not be happy with all the results in Kansas or nationally, but last night was a victory for democracy with some shining moments for Kansans. We're proud of what we've been able to accomplish this year, and are grateful to all of you who voted, got your friends and neighbors to vote, volunteered on campaigns, knocked doors, educated yourself and your networks, and came together to #SaveKansas.

Here are some quick takes on where we stand so far:

  • Governor Laura Kelly will serve another term as KS Governor, and the remainder of the state offices will go to Republicans, including Kris Kobach taking Attorney General. Not all advance and provisional ballots will be counted until the canvass, but chances are slim that any of these races will change.
  • Kansas' Congressional makeup remains unchanged, with Jerry Moran returning to the Senate, and all incumbents - including solitary Democrat Sharice Davids from the heavily gerrymandered 3rd District - winning their U.S. House races.
  • All Supreme Court Justices were easily retained, despite late efforts by to mislead the voters with incorrect messaging that a vote NO on retention protected abortion rights.
  • The two constitutional amendments were split, with Amendment 1 (legislative veto) failing by a slim majority but Amendment 2 (sheriff elections) passing by a wide margin. Douglas County was the only county to vote NO on both amendments.
  • With a handful of state House seats left to be officially called, it's looking like the Republicans will maintain their supermajority, but may have lost one seat, retaining only 85 of their previous 86 supermajority votes.
  • In Johnson County voter turnout is currently reported at close to 55%, trailing just behind the 2022 primary turnout of 56.3%. Mayor Mike Kelly of Roeland Park will be the next Johnson County Commission Chair with incumbents Becky Fast, Janeé Hanzlick, and Michael Ashcraft maintaining their Commissioner seats. State Board of Education for the 3rd District will also remain with incumbent Michelle Dombrosky.

As always, thank you for voting. Together, we can #SaveKansas.

Do you like this post?

Showing 1 reaction

published this page in Blog 2022-11-09 14:26:15 -0600
Sign Up

if you are new to MainStream.

Sign In

if you're a Member or part of our network.